CSE Directors | Centre for Science and Environment

About CSE

CSE Directors

Sunita Narain
Director General
E-mail: sunita@cseindia.org
Phone: + 91-11-29955778

Chandra Bhushan
Deputy Director General
Email: chandra@cseindia.org
Phone: 29955124

Anumita Roy Chowdhury
Executive Director - Research and Advocacy
Email: anumita@cseindia.org
Phone: 9811793923

Jagdeep Gupta
Executive Director – Planning & Operations
Email: jagdeep@cseindia.org
Phone: 9810245353

Aditya Batra
Programme Director – Board & Funding
Email: aditya@cseindia.org
Phone: 9810825775

Souparno Banerjee
Programme Director – Media Resource Centre
Email: souparno@cseindia.org
Phone: 9910864339

Kiran Pandey
Programme Director – Library & Information Management
Email: kiran@cseindia.org
Phone: 29955124

images Suresh Kumar Rohilla
Programme Director – Urban Water Management
Email: srohilla@cseindia.org
Phone: 29955124, 29956110, Ext. 286

Saroj Kumar Sahoo
Programme Director – Information and Communications Technology
Email: sahoo@cseindia.org
Phone: 9818281689

Priyavrat Bhati
Programme Director – Green Rating Project
Email: priyavrat@cseindia.org
Phone: 9999716645

Ranjita Menon
Programme Director – Environment Education
Email: ranjita@cseindia.org
Phone: +91 9871825346



Anil Agarwal


Anil Kumar Agarwal was the founder-director of the Centre for Science and Environment, India’s leading environmental NGO. Agarwal spent his lifetime advocating policies that involve the people in natural resource management and learn from India’s own traditions.

Sunita Narain


Sunita Narain has been with the Centre for Science and Environment (CSE) since 1982. She is currently the director general of the Centre and the director of the Society for Environmental Communications and publisher of the fortnightly magazine, Down To Earth.


  • CSE to release new analysis on number of trucks entering Delhi and their impact on its air quality 

    Every night after 10.00 PM and even earlier, Delhi’s roads are taken over by thousands of trucks. These gigantic vehicles enter and exit the city, leaving behind an immense pollution load in their wake.

  • Date: August- October 2015

  • Centre for Science and Environment recognises Social Impact Assessment (SIA) as an important tool to inform decision makers, regulators and stakeholders about the possible social and economic impacts of a development project. To be effective, SIA requires the active involvement of all concerned stakeholders. CSE has developed a five-day training programme aimed at giving practical exposure to participants on SIA with specific reference to infrastructure, mining and other industrial projects.

About CSE

The Centre for Science and Environment (CSE) is a public interest research and advocacy organisation based in New Delhi. CSE researches into, lobbies for and communicates the urgency of development that is both sustainable and equitable.

Follow us on

gobar times