Winners of 2008 | Centre for Science and Environment

Winners of 2008


The awards were announced during a gala event on 18 December 2008 at Stein Auditorium, India Habitat Centre, New Delhi. The awards were divided into two categories – Top 10 New Schools and Top 10 Change Makers, which have done considerable work on improving their relationship with the environment.

The award ceremony was celebrated as a festival in which schools put up stalls, performed street plays and dances, and participated in a painting competition, green graffiti and photo gallery.

Dr. M S Swaminathan, Director MSSRF, gave away the awards to the top 10 schools in the New Schools category, while Prof. Krishna Kumar, Director NCERT, awarded the schools in the Change Makers category. Mr.R H Khwaja, Additional Secretary MoEF, gave away the special awards.
Top 10 New Schools

  1. P T Chacko Memorial High School, Kunduthode, Kerala
  2. Ambuja Public School, District Pali, Rajasthan
  3. Anubhuti School, Jalgaon, Maharashtra
  4. Woodland Overseas School, Hoshiarpur, Punjab
  5. St Georges School, New Delhi
  6. D.A.V Public School, Gurgaon
  7. BCM Arya Model Senior Secondary School, Ludhiana
  8. Salwan Public School (Afternoon), Old Rajinder Nagar, New Delhi
  9. Sadhu Vaswani International School for Girls, New Delhi
  10. Amity International School, Noida

Top 10 change makers

  1. St. Pauls School, New Delhi
  2. Pinnacle School, New Delhi
  3. Salwan Public School,  Gurgaon
  4. Salwan Public School,  Old Rajinder Nagar, New Delhi
  5. Evergreen Public School, Vasundhara Enclave, New Delhi
  6. Delhi Public School, Rohini, Delhi
  7. Kerala Public School, Mango, Jamshedpur
  8. Ahlcon International School, New Delhi
  9. Government Senior Secondary School, Daramdin, Sikkim
  10. Achyuth Patwardhan School, KFI Varanasi

Special Awards
Biradari Awards

  • The Shriram School, Vasant Vihar, New Delhi
  • Sanskriti School, Chanakyapuri, New Delhi

Best Teachers Team award

  • Vishwa Bharati School, Noida

Best Students Audit Team award

  • Deepalaya School, Kalkaji Extension

Most Enterprising Team award

  • Ramjas School, Pusa Road

Best National Green Corps (NGC) state awards

  • Delhi and Andhra Pradesh

Winners of the painting competition
Forests: Holding The Earth Together

   1. Yogita, St. Joan’s Convent School
   2. Neha Pandey, SLS DAV Public School
   3. Sonali Gupta, St. George’s School

A World Without Oil / Fuel


   1. Sahil S Tangri, Bal Bharti Public School, Pitampura
   2. Abhishek Agarwal, Salwan Public School, Gurgaon
   3. Harshit Bansal, St. Mary’s School

Garbage Monster On The Prowl: What Do We Do?

   1. Raghav Sachdeva, The Pinnacle School
   2. Sakshi Saraswat, Hans Raj Model School
   3. Priyanka Chopra, Salwan Public School, Gurgaon

Follow us on
Download pdf
Download pdf

gobar times