Media briefing and consultation on state of sanitation in laggard states of India, Patna, August 31, 2017

A meeting on the state of sanitation in the laggard states of Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, Odisha and Jharkhand was held jointly by Water Advocacy and Research team, Down To Earth (DTE) and Media Resource Centre (MRC) in Patna on August 31, 2017. A report on the findings of the said state was released in the meeting in the inaugural session where CSE team,  Arvind Kumar Chaudhary, Secretary, Department of Rural Development, Bihar and Balamurugan D, Chief Executive Officer cum State Mission Director, JEEVIKA (under Department of Rural Development), Bihar were present. The whole meeting was presided by Director General of CSE, Sunita Narain.

The meeting started with a welcome note from Richard Mahapatra, Managing Editor, DTE. The findings of CSE’s report were presented by Narain. Chaudhary and Balamurugan discussed how Bihar is planning to tackle the issue of open defecation and also state’s own initiative Lohiya Swachh Bihar Abhiyan. The meeting received good participation from government officials from Bihar, Jharkhand and Uttar Pradesh. Other stakeholders included local NGOs, journalists, public health experts, scientists, and academicians.

This was followed by an open house question and answer session on loopholes to achieve open defecation free status in studied laggard states. The main questions were on the coercive actions used for pushing the communities to use toilets, mindless construction of toilets, low usage of toilets and the policies of the laggard states to go for open defecation free state.

Post lunch session focussed on the intensive discussion to catalyze impactful work in order to attain sustainable clean state in the four states. Key points of discussion were flawed toilet technologies in different hydrogeological regions – especially in areas having shallow groundwater or near waterbodies, low interest of the state on the issues of solid liquid waste management and role of information, education and communication in mainstreaming the role of stakeholders in toilet construction and usage. 

List of Participants

Balamurugan D
CEO cum State Mission Director,
JEEVIKA (under Department of
Rural Development),

R K Tiwari
SBM(G), Panchayat Raj Development,
Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh

Arvind Kumar Chaudhary
Secretary, Department of
Rural Development,

Ajay Pratap Singh
UPSRLM, Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh

Sanjay Singh
Director, Population
Services International

Md. Nehal Ahsan
Finish Society, Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh

Kumar Ranjan
Chetna Vikas, Deoghar, Jharkhand

Shruti Bhushan
SDF, Patna

Dr.Arun Kumar
Mahavir Cancer Institute & Research Centre,
Patna Bihar,,

Avinash kumar

Chandra Shekhar
Gramyasheel, Supaul, Bihar

Om Kumar
Vikalp Foundation, Gaya, Bihar

Jyotsna Singh
DC Office Ramgarh, Jharkhand

Anita Gupta
Bhojpur Mahila Kala Kendra, Ara, Bhojpur, Bihar

Santosh Kumar
Aga Khan Foundation, Patna

Om Satyam Trivedi
Samanvay Tirth, Gaya, Bihar

Babli Kumari
Aga khan Foundation, Patna

Khushboo Sinha,
TRY, Patna, Bihar

Anidh Kumar Singh
Drinking Water and Sanitation Dept,

TRY, Patna, Bihar

Sanjay Kumar
Jagram Kalyan Bharti, Araria,

Sanjay Kumar
Change Catalyst, Patna, Bihar

Megh Pyne Abhiyan, Patna

Ram Kishore Prasad Singh
Grameen Ebam Nagar Vikas Parishad (GNVP), 
Patna, Bihar

Pradeep Podder
Megh pyne Abhiyan,
Patna, Bihar

Rajiv Kumar, Abhivanchit,
Patna, Bihar

Kumod Kumar
Megh Pyne Abhiyan, Patna,

PK Anand,
Lohia Swachh Bihar Abhiyan -
UNICEF, Patna, Bihar

Megh Pyne Abhiyan, Patna,

Dr Naveen Kumar,
Bihar State Pollution Control Board,
Patna, Bihar

Vinay Kumar
Water Action, Patna

Abha, Gram Jyoti,
Deoghar, Jharkhand

Mahahfooz Alam
Panah Ashram, Munger, Bihar





Imran Khan, Spl Correspondent,
IANS, Patna, Bihar

Neshat Khan, Photo Journalist,
Dainik Bhaskar, Patna, Bihar

Prem Prakash, Reporter,
Bhojpuri Jhalak, Patna, Bihar

Alok Kumar, Reporter,
Sanmarg, Patna, Bihar

Ranjan Kr., Video Journalist,
Freelance, Patna, Bihar

Anwarullah, Reporter,
Munsif TV, Patna, Bihar

Mukul, Reporter,
Daily Panch, Patna, Bihar

Prakash Kumar, Cameraman,
Darsh News, Patna, Bihar

Pawan Pratyay, Reporter,
D.N.E., Prabhat Khabar
Patna, Bihar

Pramod Kumar, Reporter,
Rashtriya Sahara, Patna, Bihar

Vinay Kumar, Reporter,
Sandhya Times, Patna, Bihar

Saroj, Photographer,
Prabhat Khabar, Patna, Bihar

Ayesha Hasan, Reporter,
Times of India, Patna, Bihar

Abhishek Kumar, Reporter,
Hindustan Hindi, Patna, Bihar

Mukesh, Sr. Reporter,
Dainik Bhaskar, Patna, Bihar

Ravishankar Upadhyay, Reporter,
Prabhat Khabar, Patna, Bihar

Devraj, Spl Correspondent,
Telegraph, Patna, Bihar

Dinesh Kumar, Reporter,, Patna, Bihar

Nagendra, Photographer,
Telegraph, Patna, Bihar

Santosh, Head, Kashish News,
Patna, Bihar

Dheeraj, Reporter,
UNI, Patna, Bihar

Arun Kumar, Bureau Chief,
Hindustan Times, Patna, Bihar

Neelkamalm, Chief Reporter,
ETV News, Patna, Bihar

Santosh Sarang, Chief Sub Editor,
Prabhat Khabar
Muzzafarpur, Bihar

Neeraj, Correspondent,
Hindustan, Patna, Bihar

Bikash Kumar Sinha, Chief Sub Editor, Prabhat Khabar
Bhagalpur, Bihar

M. Shamim, Reporter,
Faski Tajeem, Patna, Bihar




Media Coverage