Planning and Designing of Faecal Sludge/Septage and Decentralised Wastewater Treatment Plants

Photo Credit: CSE
October 24, 2017

October 10-13, 2017

On 10th October, CSE commenced its 4-day training workshop on the planning and designing of FSTPs and DWWT systems. The training spanned over 10th to 13th October 2017 kickstarting at 9:00 A.M. till 5:00 P.M. Participants in the training were from the centre and state functionaries of Uttar Pradesh and Bihar state governments. The training focused not only on providing knowledge but also opening the pandora box of knowledge which our participants possessed, this helped in co-relating knowledge with what already exists. 

Introduction to the training was done by Dr Rohilla, Programme Director, Water Programme, CSE followed by Introduction and planning of DWWT was done by Dr Matto and Mr Luthra. The session involved clarifying of stereotypes and encouraging the participants to think out loud. 

The second day started with a hands-on training facilitated by the team, followed by a session on "site-selection" of FSTP's by Dr Gautam concluding a day with more questions on how the systems work in detail and happy trainers. The third day, started with a high on demand practice on FSTP land approximation facilitated by Dr P.K. Jha followed by a session on Soil biotechnology by Chandrashekhar Shankar and introduction and planning of FSTP's by Mr N. Praveen. The fourth and the final day, a much-anticipated one by the participants, focussed on a field visit. The CSE tram showcased the Soil biotechnology plant installed at Nehru Park, and DWWT with wetland at DJB, Varunalaya. Upon seeing what was being imparted to them over the 3 days, participants rejoiced with an increased capability to correlate and perhaps try to have the technologies implemented in their cities.


List of participants    

Rajeev Ranjan Lal
BRJP Patna

Sanjay Kumar
Patna Nagar Nigam

Vinay Kumar Nag
Patna Nagar Nigam

Abhishek Kumar
Katihar Nagar Nigam

Kundan Kumar Verma
Bodhgaya Nagar Panchayat

Jitendra Kumar
Bodhgaya Nagar Panchayat

Anjuli Mishra
RCUES Lucknow

Javed Ansari
UPSPMG, Lucknow

Seema Singh

Amit Gautam
Bijnor NPP

Nagendra Kumar
Gangaghat NPP


Mohammad Harun
Ramnagar NPP

Shamsher Singh
Chunar NPP

Sravan Kumar
NMCG Delhi

Chaitra Devoor

PK Aggarwal

Harit Kumar

Akankshu Singh

Praveen Yadav

Abhay Pratap singh
UPJN, Hardoi

Sunil Kumar singh
UPJN, Unnao