M S Swaminathan


Dr Swaminathan is one of India's foremost agricultural scientists. His pioneering work has earned him several awards, including the Padma Vibhushan, the Ramon Magsaysay Award and the World Food Prize. He has held many distinguished positions, including that of Director General of the Indian Council of Agricultural Research and the International Rice Research Institute.

Sunita Narain


Sunita Narain has been with Centre for Science and Environment since 1982, and has headed it since 2000. Her research interests range from global democracy with a focus on climate change, to the need for local democracy where she has worked on forest-related resource management, water and waste issues. Ms Narain serves on the boards of different organisations, and writes and speaks regularly on key concerns of environment and development.

Chandra Bhushan

Deputy Director General

Chandra Bhushan is an expert on environmental and climate geo-politics, industrial pollution, energy and the political economy of natural resource extraction -- subjects which he has extensively researched and written on. He holds degrees in civil engineering and environmental planning and technology.

Jagdeep Gupta


Jagdeep Gupta has been with the Centre since 1998. As one of its Executive Directors, she oversees the programme management, administration systems and processes and human resource management of the Centre. Her 'people at the centre' approach has helped in strengthening the institution and has created conducive environment where people can work and excel.

William Bissell


William Bissell is the Managing Director of FabIndia, a company that has made a signal contribution in popularising Indian handlooms and handicrafts. He is also the Managing Trustee of the Bhadurajun Artisan Trust, which runs schools in Rajasthan to bring quality education to artisanal families living in rural areas. Mr Bissell has been closely associated with Centre for Science and Environment and its work for many years.

G N Gupta


G N Gupta joined the Board of Centre for Science and Environment in 1998. As a member of the Indian Revenue Service, he has held several key positions in the revenue department of the Ministry of Finance. He served as the Chairperson of the Central Board of Direct Taxes, India's highest tax making body, and also as a Director in the Planning Commission. He currently serves on the boards of several companies and offers consultancy services on issues related to direct taxes.

N.C. Saxena


Mr Saxena has had a long and illustrious career as a bureaucrat. He has served as Secretary, Planning Commission (1999-2002); Secretary, Rural Development (1997-99); and Director, LBS National Academy of Administration, Mussoorie (1993-96). He has been a Visiting Fellow at CIFOR (Center for International Forestry Research) in Indonesia; in 1989, the Rockefeller Foundation had awarded him a Senior Post-Doctorate Fellowship to do research at the University of Oxford. On behalf of the Supreme Court of India, N C Saxena has monitored food-based programmes in India. He now serves as a consultant to a number of organisations.

N. J. Rao


N J Rao, a chemical engineer, is a former director of the Institute of Paper Technology and the Central Pulp and Paper Research Institute. He has also served for over 34 years in the chemical engineering and paper technology departments of IIT Roorkee and the University of Roorkee. Currently, Dr Rao is the Vice Chancellor of Jaypee University of Engineering and Technology in Raghogarh, Madhya Pradesh.

Mahesh Krishnamurthy


Mahesh studied computer science from IIT-Mumbai and the University of Wisconsin, and also holds a Masters in Business Administration from Stanford University. He has worked for 18 years in different industries in the United States, including as Head of Corporate Development at Accelrys and General Partner at Idanta Partners. He has also worked for the KT Venture Group, a corporate venture capital fund sponsored by KLA-Tencor, McKinsey, AT&T and Honeywell.

Bharati Chaturvedi


Bharati Chaturvedi is an environmentalist and writer. She is the founder and director of Chintan Environmental Research and Action Group. Bharati has served on various committees of the Government of India, including the Expert Committee on Plastic Waste, set up by the Ministry of Environment and Forests to finalize rules for plastic waste handling. She also serves on the boards of several non-profit organizations in India.

A. K. Shiva Kumar


Mr Shiva Kumar is a development economist and professor, and teaches at Harvard University and the Indian School of Business. He has served as an advisor to UNICEF-India, and as a member of India's National Advisory Council. He has also served as the Director of the International Centre for Human Development in New Delhi.

Raj M S Liberhan


Raj Liberhan, management and financial expert has varied experience with a significant range of responsibilities at the senior level in government, public sector and NGO environments, building and sustaining organisations, programmes and missions with sector specific objectives and services. He served as Chief Executive of the India Habitat Centre, New Delhi for fifteen years and helped create a unique institutional mechanism.