Regional Media Briefing Workshop on Coasts, Coastal Populations and their Concerns

October 27, 2010

Panaji, Goa, August 13-14, 2010

The Media Resource Centre of Centre for Science and Environment, organised a two day Media Regional Workshop on Coasts, Coastal Populations and their Concerns in Goa on the 13th and 14th August 2010. The Workshop was organised to bring in to focus the various threats facing the Indian coasts. Not only are the coastal communities reeling under the pressure of developmental projects such as ports, harbours, SEZ etc, but nature also lashes out its fury on the unprotected and vulnerable. To encourage awareness, the ongoing activities, and struggle against violations of various kinds, CSE organised the workshop for media personnel.  Journalists mainly from the seven coastal states along with journalists from Delhi attended the workshop along with a few activist who are actively involved in various issues along the coasts. The Workshop also brought forth various debates and demands between the ministry and various coastal communities.

The Workshop held at the Goa University was attended by 55 journalists both from the print and the electronic media. We also had an abundant group of 30 resource persons addressing and discussing various issues including Dr. MS Swaminathan, under whom the CMZ and the CRZ report Flinal Frontier was drafted, Aleixo Sequira, Minister of Environment and Power, Goa, Digambar Kamat, The Chief Minister of Goa. The debate on the special status for Goa continued with valid arguments posed by the activists. There was also a technical session to understand the phenomenon of climate change and sea level rise, presented by Tapal Paul, World Bank and scientists and researchers from NIO and the head of INCOIS. A session was dedicated to Mumbai and the various controversies the city is groping with.


Additionally there was a field trip organised by the Media Resource Centre, CSE  to highlight the problems particular to Goa. This included a visit to four beaches across Panjim pointing at the the wide scale violations of the CRZ, which are taking place in the name of development and tourism. The host was Mr. Roland Martins a veteran on the prevailing issues in Goa.

The Workshop got extensive media coverage in Goan newspapers along with a few other regional newspapers in the coastal states. The participants found it extremely interesting to be in touch with experts and took the opportunity to update themselves about the ongoing struggles and niche areas and question the existing situation. The workshop shaped a platform for the resource persons as they could indulge into brain storming about prospective solutions to the underlying issues. Faculty members and students were also active participants, benefiting from the assemblage of disparate spokesperson.

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

Amitava Gupta
Senior sub-editor
Anando Bazaar Patrika
Kolkata, West Bengal
amiamitava@gmail.com


Amisha Jhadav
Reporter
Pudhari
Goa


Anil Kumar Singh,
Metro editor
The Times of India
Mumbai, Maharashtra
anilsinghjournalist@gmail.com


Anuradha Alahakoon
(CSE Media Fellow -- Coasts)
Freelancer
The Nation
Kolonnawa, Sri Lanka,
anurad76@yahoo.com


Ashis Senapati
District correspondent
The Times of India
Kendrapara, Orissa,
senapatiashis@rediffmail.com


Chinmay Pati
District correspondent
Dharitri, Puri, Orissa,
chinu.dharitri@gmail.com, chinu.dharitri@yahoo.co.in


C V L N Prasad
Chief reporter
Andhra Jyothi
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh,
prasadcvln@gmail.com prasadcvln@andhrajyothy.com


Devika Sequiera
Special correspondent
Deccan Herald, Goa,
devikasequeira@gmail.com


Dorbala B Sharma
Senior sub-editor and writer-science and environment,
Vaartha
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh
sharma.dorbala@gmail.com


Ermelinda Maria Dias
Director-news,
Doordarshan
Delhi,
melindadias@yahoo.co.in


Ganesh Puranik
Assistant press officer
Municipal Corporation of Greater
Mumbai, Mumbai, Maharashtra
ganesh.puranik@gmail.com


Geetashree
(CSE Media Fellow - Coasts)
Assistant editor
Outlook Saptahik
Delhi,
gshree31@gmail.com


G Pattabi Raman
(CSE Media Fellow - Coasts)
Photojournalist
The New Indian Express
Puducherry,
pattabiram@gmail.com


Gerard D’Souza
Sub-editor
Gomantak Times
Goa
gernalist@gmail.com


G T Satish
Senior correspondent
Deccan Herald
Bangalore, Karnataka,
satisha.gt@gmail.com


Imran Hossain Ansary
(CSE Media Fellow - Coasts)
Senior reporter
Diganta TV
Dhaka, Bangladesh,
imran.ansary@gmail.com


Jaideep Hardikar
Special correspondent
DNA
Nagpur, Maharashtra,
h_jaideep@dnaindia.net, jaideep.hardikar@gmail.com


Jasim Uddin Sarkar
(CSE Media Fellow -- Coasts)
Staff reporter
Amar Desh
Dhaka, Bangladesh,
jasimscw@gmail.com


Juhi Chaudhary
(CSE Media Fellow - Coasts)
Reporter
CNN-IBN, Delhi,
juhi.chaudhary@network18online.com


K P M Basheer
Special correspondent
The Hindu
Kochi, Kerala,
kpmbasheer@gmail.com


K Rajendran
Deputy news editor
Kairali TV
Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala,
krajendran6@gmail.com


K Valliappan
Sub-editor
India Today
Chennai, Tamil Nadu,
valliappanpress@gmail.com


Malaka Roderigo
(CSE Media Fellow - Coasts)
Environment journalist
The Sunday Times
Colombo, Sri
Lanka, malaka.rodrigo@gmail.com


Mausami Singh
Senior reporter
IBN-7
Delhi,
mausami.singh.geherwar@gmail.com, mausami.singh@network18online.com


Moitreyee Baruah
Principal correspondent
DNA
Bangalore, Karnataka,
maitreyee.boruah2010@gmail.com


Nandkumar Apte
Reporter
Goa Newsline
Goa


Nilesh Naik
Correspondent
Digital Goa
Goa
nileshnaik9@gmail.com


Pamela D’Mello
Special correspondent
The Asian Age
Goa,
dmello.pamela@gmail.com


Paul Fernandes
Journalist
The Times of India
Goa
fdspaul1@gmail.com


Pooja N Naik
reporter
Pudhari
Goa
parinaik2008@rediffmail.com


Prakash Kamat
Special correspondent
The Hindu
Goa,
prakashkamat@rediffmail.com


Prashant Shetye
Journalist
Gomantak
Goa
shetye.prashant@gmail.com


Rajanish Ramakant Joshi
(CSE Media Fellow - Coasts)
Sub-editor
Sakaal
Solapur, Maharashtra,
joshirajanish@gmail.com


Rashme Sehgal
Editor-science and technology
The Asian Age
Delhi,
rashme6@hotmail.com


Reshma Natu
Reporter
Tarun Bharat
Goa
reshmanatu@gmail.com


Rupesh Samant
Principal correspondent
PTI
Goa
rupeshgoa@pti.in


Sandeep Sahu
(CSE Media Fellow - Coasts)
Contributor
BBC Radio
Bhubaneshwar, Orissa,
sandeepsahu2005@gmail.com


Shailesh Malode
(CSE Media Fellow - Coasts)
Programme executive-science
AIR
Nasik, Maharashtra,
shailesh.malode@gmail.com, shailesh_malode@yahoo.com


Shailesh Tivrekar
Reporter
Goa Doot
Goa
tivrekarshailes@gmail.com


Shalini Singh
(CSE Media Fellow - Coasts)
Special correspondent
The Hindustan Times
Delhi,
shalininess@gmail.com


Shamindra Kulamannage
(CSE Media Fellow - Coasts)
Senior editor
E TV
Colombo, Sri Lanka,
shamindrak@gmail.com


Shiv Kumar
State correspondent
The Tribune
Mumbai, Maharashtra,
journoshiv@gmail.com


Shweta Kamat
Staff reporter
Herald
Goa
shwetakamatgoa@gmail.com


 

Snehal Rebello
Principal correspondent
The Hindustan Times
Mumbai, Maharashtra


Soma Basu
Reporter
The Statesman
Kolkata, West Bengal,
letters2soma@gmail.com


Soumen Datta
Assistant editor
Aajkal
Kolkata, West Bengal,
soumenalways@gmail.com


Sudeep Guru
Correspondent
The Telegraph
Balangir, Orissa,
sudeepguru@rediffmail.com, sudeepkumar.guru@gmail.com


Sudesh Arlekar
Sub-editor
Tarun Bharat
Goa
arlekarsudesh@gmail.com


Suhasini Prabhugaonkar
Chief reporter
Gomantak
Goa


Sunil Naik
News cameraman
DD News
Goa


Sushant Kunkolienkar
Chief reporter
Lokmat
Goa
sushantlokmat@gmail.com


Varghese C Thomas
Chief sub-editor
Malayala Manorama
Kottayam, Kerala,
varghesecthomas@mm.co.in


Vasudev Peryi
Reporter
Lokmat
Goa
vasudevperyi@gmail.com


Viju V V
(CSE Media Fellow - Coasts)
Sub-editor
Mathrubhumi
viju02ap@gmail.com


Yogesh Joshi
Senior correspondent
The Hindustan Times
Pune, Maharashtra,
yogesh.journalist@gmail.com, yogesh.joshi@hindustantimes.com


SPEAKERS AND RESOURCE PERSONS


Aleixo Sequeira
Minister of environment
Government of Goa, Goa


Antonio Mascarenhas
Scientist
National Institute of Oceanography
Goa,
mascarenhas@nio.org


Arvind Bhatikar
Former chairperson
Marmugao Port Trust
Goa,
yugvad@hotmail.com , yugvad@sancharnet.in


A Senthil Vel
Additional secretary
Union ministry of environment and forests,
Delhi
senthil.vel@nic.in


Ashwin Tombat
Editor
Herald
Goa,
editor@herald-goa.com, ashwintombat@gmail.com


A S Unnikrishnan
Scientist
National Institute of Oceanography, Goa,
unni@nio.org


Baban Ingole
Scientist
National Institute of Oceanography
Goa
baban@nio.org


Bharat Patel
Secretary
Machimar Adhikar Sangharsh, Sangathan (MASS),
Bhuj, Gujarat
bharatp1977@gmail.com


Chandrika Sharma
Executive secretary
International Collective in Support of Fishworkers
Chennai, Tamil Nadu
chandmegh@gmail.com


Dean D’Cruz
Architect and urban planner
Mozaic Design
Goa,
architecture@mozaic-design.com


Debi Goenka
Executive trustee
Conservation Action Trust
Mumbai, Maharashtra
debi.cat@gmail.com


Digambar Kamat
Chief minister
Goa


Dileep Deobagkar
Vice chancellor
Goa University
Goa
vc@unigoa.ac.in


J M Mauskar
Additional secretary
Union ministry of environment and forests,
New Delhi
jm.mauskar@nic.in


Kirit Maganlal
Former president
Travel and Tourism Association of Goa,
kirit@magsonsgroup.com


Matanhy Saldanha
Former minister of tourism
Goa,
matanhysaldanha@gmail.com


M S Swaminathan
Chairperson
MSSRF
Chennai
chairman@mssrf.res.in


Nandkumar Kamat
Professor
Goa University
Goa
nandkamat@gmail.com


Patricia Pinto
former councellor
Corporation of the City of Panjim
Goa,
patricia.goa@gmail.com


Probir Banerjee
President
PondyCAN
Puducherry
probir@shuddham.org, probir@airtelmail.in


Raju Nayak
Editor
Lokmat
Goa
nayakraju@gmail.com


Roland Martins
Activist
Goa
goacan@gmail.com


Satheesh C Shenoi
Director
Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services,
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh
director@incois.gov.in


Satish Shetye
Director
National Institute of Oceanography
Goa
shetye@nio.org


Srikant Fondekar
Former scientist
National Institute of Oceanography
Goa,
spfondekar@gmail.com


Sudarshan Rodriguez
Adjunct fellow
Dakshin Foundation and programme
Manager-TISS
Bangalore and Mumbai, Karnataka/Maharashtra,
sudarshan.rodriguez@gmail.com


Sunita Narain
Director
CSE
Delhi
sunita@cseindia.org


Tapas Paul
Head
Integrated Coastal Zone Management (ICZM) programme
The World Bank
New Delhi
tpaul@worldbank.org


Vaishali Patil
Convenor
Konkan Vinashkari Prakalp Virodhi Samithi,
Sindhudurg, Maharashtra
ankurtrust@gmail.com, vaishraj4@rediffmail.com


V Vivekanandan
Advisor
South Indian Federation of Fishermen Societies,
Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala
vivek.siffs@gmail.com


CSE MEDIA RESOURCE TEAM


Papia Samajdar
Assistant coordinator
MRC
papia@cseindia.org


Souparno Banerjee
Coordinator
MRC
souparno@cseindia.org


 

 

Photo Gallery
 
Videobites
Speech by Goa Chief minister Digambar Kamat
Part 1 | Part 2

Concluding remarks by Dr. M.S. Swaminathan
Part 1 | Part 2 | Part 3 |
Part 4

Reports and Documents
Final frontier: agenda to protect the ecosystem and habitat of India’s coast for conservation and livelihood security