Winners of 2006

The first Gobar Times Green Schools Awards were given away at Stein Auditorium, India Habitat Centre, New Delhi, on Monday, November 27, 2006. Students and teachers from various schools in Delhi and across India were present in full strength.

Prof. Krishna Kumar, director, NCERT, was the chief guest. He gave away prizes to the top 20 green schools, and spoke about environment education in the country. Sunita Narain, director, Centre for Science and Environment (CSE), also addressed the audience. Sumita Dasgupta, coordinator, CSE’s Environment Education Unit (EEU) discussed the findings of the rating, while Shankar Musafir, assistant coordinator, EEU delved into its methodology.

A photo gallery to show ‘Green schools in action’ was put up on the occasion. It had photographs of students and teachers working and collecting data for their respective Green Schools Report.


Besides, five schools had put up stalls on five major themes of the Green Schools Programme:

  • Gyan Mandir School, Naraina, New Delhi: Air
  • Mother’s International School, New Delhi: Land
  • Deepalaya School, Kalkaji Extension, New Delhi: Energy
  • Pinnacle School, Panchsheel Enclave, New Delhi: Waste
  • Evergreen Public School, Vasundhra Enclave, New Delhi: Water

Apart from the 20 schools, which won the top honours, the following were short-listed for on-site visits/telephonic assessment:

  1. Adarsh Public School, Bali Nagar, New Delhi
  2. Adarsh Public School, Vikaspuri, New Delhi
  3. Apeejay School, Pitampura, New Delhi
  4. Bharat National School, Ram Vihar, Karkardooma, New Delhi
  5. Delhi Public School, Mathura Road, New Delhi
  6. Fr Agnel School, Gautam Nagar, New Delhi
  7. Government Sr Sec. School, Chilla, Mayur Vihar, New Delhi
  8. Greenfields, Dilshad Garden, New Delhi
  9. Guru Harkishan Public School, Vasant Vihar, New Delhi
  10. Hills Wood Academy, Preet Vihar, New Delhi
  11. Kendriya Vidyalaya, Andrewsganj, New Delhi
  12. Kendriya Vidyalaya, R.K Puram, Sector 4, New Delhi
  13. Lancer’s Convent, Rohini, New Delhi
  14. Pragati Public School, Dwarka, New Delhi
  15. Salwan Public School (Afternoon), Rajinder Nagar, New Delhi
  16. Salwan Public School, (Morning), Rajinder Nagar, New Delhi
  17. Sarvodaya Kanya Vidyalaya No. 2, Sagarpur, New Delhi
  18. St. France de Sales, Janakpuri, New Delhi
  19. Tagore International School, Vasant Vihar, New Delhi

Outstation schools:

  1. Indus International School, Bangalore
  2. Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Jalgaon, Maharashtra
  3. Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Canacona, Goa
  4. Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Kheda
  5. Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Satara, Maharashtra
  6. Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Vadodara, Gujarat
  7. Kendriya Vidyalaya No. 2, Lohegaon, Pune
  8. Kendriya Vidyalaya, Army area, Pune
  9. Kendriya Vidyalaya, Arty Centre, Nasik Road Camp
  10. Kendriya Vidyalaya, College of Military Engineering, Pune
  11. Kerala Public School, Gamharia, Jamshedpur
  12. Kerala Public School, Burmamines, Jamshedpur
  13. Sri Vani Science Education Centre School, Bangalore
  14. Young Horizons School, Kolkata


Tags: CSE,